Skip to main content

KYVL QuickSearch



Committees and Work Groups

Alliance charge

To represent KYVL membership in advising the KYVL Leadership Team on funding, collections, and other issues of primary importance to membership.

Revised 10.21.2016

More about the Alliance

The KYVL Alliance meets with Leadership Team (LT) approximately twice each year to advise LT on budget / funding and collections matters as a broader representation of membership.

Affirmed by LT 12.16.2016

Makeup of the Alliance

The KYVL Alliance consists of 13 voting members and three non-voting members. Voting members must represent or work with current member institutions. Apart from those who serve ex officio, members are selected by the organizations they represent and serve three-year terms that begin July 1.

Group No. of reps Selecting body Membership requirements
AIKCU 1 AIKCU Library Directors Dean or director
CPE 1 ex officio VP with oversight of KYVL; non-voting
K12 2 KASL Executive Board  
K12 1 ex officio KDE Library Media Consultant
KCTCS 1 KCTCS Library Directors Dean or director
KDLA 1 State librarian & commissioner  
KYVL 1 ex officio Director; non-voting
KYVL Leadership Team 1 ex officio Chair; non-voting in this role
Nonaffiliated academic libraries 1 Directors of member libraries Dean or director
Public libraries 2 KPLA Executive Board Director
SAALCK 1 SAALCK Library Directors Dean or director other than UK / U of L
Special libraries 1 Directors of member libraries Library dean or director
University of Kentucky 1 ex officio Dean of libraries
University of Louisville 1 ex officio Dean of libraries

Affirmed by LT 12.16.2016

Officers

Alliance has two officers, chair and chair elect with recorder duties. Offices rotate among member groups according to the schedule below. Terms begin July 1. CPE vice president, KDE library media consultant, KYVL director and KYVL Leadership Team chair are not included in the rotation of officers.

Among KASL and KPLA representatives, officers should be selected to ensure that the chair elect will assume duties in first or second year of a three-year term. If both representatives are eligible to serve, they may agree among themselves who will fill the office. If necessary, a simple majority of Alliance members shall determine the officers.

Chair elect is requested to to coordinate with the other members of the Alliance and the Leadership Team to ensure that the Alliance membership roster is filled prior to the July 1 start of his or her term as chair.

Edited following review by LT 12.16.2016

Term of office Chair Chair elect / recorder
F11-12 UK or U of L SAALCK other than UK / U of L
F12-13 SAALCK other than UK / U of L KASL (formerly KSMA)
F13-14 KASL (formerly KSMA) Public libraries
F14-15 Public libraries KCTCS
F15-16 KCTCS Nonaffiliated academic
F16-17 Nonaffiliated academic AIKCU
F17-18 AIKCU Special libraries
F18-19 Special libraries KDLA
F19-20 KDLA UK or UofL
F20-21 UK or U of L SAALCK other than UK / U of L

Roster of current members

Group First Last Email Phone Office Term exp.
AIKCU Tony Hopkins thopkins@spalding.edu o: 502.585.7130 Chair 2019
CPE Aaron Thompson aaron.thompson@ky.gov o: 502.892.3079   ex officio
K12 (KASL) Darlah Zweifel darlah.zweifel@meade.kyschools.us o: 270.422.7515, x4522   2019
K12 (KASL) Hollis Hart hollis.hart@newport.kyschools.us o: 859.292.3023   2020
K12 (KDE LMC) Kathy Mansfield kathy.mansfield@education.ky.gov o: 502.564.2106, x4500   ex officio
KCTCS Donna Abell donna.abell@kctcs.edu o: 270.686.4575 Chair, 15-16 2020
KDLA Terry Manuel terry.manuel@ky.gov o: 502.564.1730   ex officio
KYVL Ilona Burdette ilona.burdette@ky.gov o: 502.892.3073   ex officio
KYVL Leadership Team Sheree Williams sheree.williams@kctcs.edu o: 502.213.2156   ex officio
Nonaffiliated Academic Billie Anne Gebb billieanne.gebb@frontier.edu o: 859.899.2519 Chair, 16-17 2019
Public libraries (KPLA) Alicia Harrington aharrington@dcplibrary.org o: 270.684.0211   2019
Public libraries (KPLA) Kathy Watson estillcolibrary@gmail.com o: 606.723.3030   2020
SAALCK Sheila Stuckey sheila.stuckey@kysu.edu o: 502.597.6852   2019
Special libraries Vacant
Vacant       Vacant
University of Kentucky Deirdre Scaggs deirdre@uky.edu o: 859.257.3653   ex officio
University of Louisville Bob Fox bob.fox@louisville.edu o: 502.852.6745   ex officio

Updated 7.25.2017

Donna Abell, KCTCS (2020)
donna.abell@kctcs.edu
o: 270.686.4575

Ilona Burdette, KYVL (ex officio)
ilona.burdette@ky.gov
o: 502.892.3073

Bob Fox, University of Louisville (ex officio)
bob.fox@louisville.edu
o: 502.852.6745

Billie Anne Gebb, Frontier Nursing University (2019, Chair)
billieanne.gebb@frontier.edu
o: 859.899.2519

Alicia Harrington, Public libraries (2019)
aharrington@dcplibrary.org
o: 270.684.0211

Hollis Hart, K12 (2020)
hollis.hart@newport.kyschools.us
o: 859.292.3023

Tony Hopkins, AIKCU (2019)
thopkins@spalding.edu
o: 502.585.7130

Kathy Mansfield, K12 / KDE (ex officio)
kathy.mansfield@education.ky.gov
o: 502.564.2106, x4500

Terry Manuel, KDLA (ex officio)
terry.manuel@ky.gov
o: 502.564.1730

Kathy Watson, Public libraries (2020)
estillcolibrary@gmail.com
o: 606.723.3030

Deirdre Scaggs, University of Kentucky (ex officio)
deirdre@uky.edu
o: 859.257.3653

Sheila Stuckey, SAALCK (2019)
sheila.stuckey@kysu.edu
o: 502-597-6852

Aaron Thompson, CPE (ex officio)
aaron.thompson@ky.gov
o: 502.892.3079

Sheree Williams, KYVL LT Chair, (ex officio)
sheree.williams@kctcs.edu
o: 502.213.2156

Darlah Zweifel, K12 (2019)
darlah.zweifel@meade.kyschools.us
o: 270.422.7515, x4522

Vacant, Special libraries

Vacant, University of Kentucky (ex officio)

Updated 7.25.2017