Skip to Main Content

Information Literacy

Charge and tasking

Information Literacy Work Group Charge

The charge of the Information Literacy Task Force is to elevate information literacy in the Commonwealth by leveraging KYVL resources and the expertise and reach of KYVL member libraries.

Information Literacy Work Group Tasking, F21-22 The tasking of the Information Literacy Work Group is to establish Curation Team and Communication Team to focus on differing aspects of the year’s work:
  • Curation Team
    • Develop and implement a curation process for submitted resources
    • Create a sustainability plan for repository content and digital lifecycle
    • Establish baseline toolkit; work with KYVL to migrate toolbox content to repository, including chunking of videos
  • Communication Team
    • Develop a communication plan which includes strategic actions and messaging to promote the collection:
      • Encouraging librarians to submit quality resources and promote the collection.
      • Collaborating with librarians to promote the collection to educators outside the library.
    • Conduct training in the use of the collection.
    • Prepare PD / faculty resource kit to train faculty in use of collection

Revised May 2021

Information Literacy Task Force Tasking, F20-21

The tasking of the Information Literacy Task Force is to:

  • Crosswalk the Information Literacy Skills Progression with the Kentucky Academic Standards for Library Media.
  • Develop a sustainability plan for information literacy resources repository content and digital lifecycle.
  • Review Air Table tool and determine if this or another tool will work best for organizing current and future instructional materials and submissions. This tool must consider the submission process and tagging options.
  • Develop and implement a review process for submitted resources.
  • Review current instructional materials and continue to develop & compile instructional materials at all audience levels.
  • Continue to look for opportunities to collaborate with / recruit librarians and to present to educators outside the library.

Revised 10.23.2020

Information Literacy Task Force Tasking, F19-20

The tasking of the Information Literacy Task Force is to:

  • Within three overarching goals (find, evaluate, use), identify specific skills / SLOs for the prepared student transitioning to each audience level
  • Review KYVL information literacy tutorials (How to Do Research, middle and high school; Research Rocket, elementary school) for consistency with these skills / SLOs and for potential future development
  • Continue to develop & compile instructional materials at all audience levels
  • Develop and implement a review process for submitted resources
  • Look for opportunities to collaborate with  / present to educators outside the library
KYVL-LIRT Task Force Tasking, F18-19

The tasking of the KYVL-LIRT Task Force (F18-19) is to:

  • Identify information literacy needs for students transitioning to postsecondary education in Kentucky
  • Identify priorities for information literacy instruction of Kentucky's K12 students
  • Prioritize development of instructional materials
  • Create instructional materials based on KYVL resources for preparing Kentucky's students for a successful transition to postsecondary education research

Revised 11.30.18

Roster and composition

Origins of the Information Literacy Work Group

In September 2018, the KYVL Leadership Team approved creation of an ad hoc KYVL-LIRT Task Force, in partnership with the Kentucky Library Association's Library Instruction Round Table (LIRT), to work toward creation of shareable information literacy instruction based on resources available through KYVL, particularly as it applies to students transitioning from K12 to postsecondary education.

Following the initial one-year pilot, the group agreed to continue for an additional two years as the KYVL Information Literacy Task Force. In May 2021, Leadership Team promoted the task force to a KYVL work group.

Makeup of the Information Literacy Work Group

The work group is led by co-chairs representing K12 and academic libraries. LIRT membership is optional. The work group also includes KYVL staff and a Leadership Team liaison. The work group seeks to include librarians representing primary, elementary, intermediate, secondary and secondary grade bands. The group's target size is approximately 12 to 15 members. The work group is authorized to create subcommittees.

F21-22 Information Literacy Work Group Roster

Updated 9.28.2021

Current roster
Group First Last Email Phone Office
AIKCU Andrew Adler andrew_adler@georgetowncollege.edu 502.863.8000  
AIKCU Naulayne Enders nenders@kcu.edu 606.474.3276  
AIKCU Karoline Manny karoline.manny@centre.edu 859.238.5299  
K12 James Allen james.allen@education.ky.gov 502.564.3141 Liaison
K12 LaKeitha Brooks lakeitha.brooks@eku.edu 859.622.3726  
K12 Lisa Fierro lisa.fierro@shelby.kyschools.us o: 502.633.2375 tbd
K12 Karrie Chajkowski karrie.chajkowski@fortthomas.kyschools.us    
K12 Melissa Gardner melissa.gardner@campbell.kyschools.us 859.635.2173 Co-chair
K12 Jason Gay jason.gay@fortthomas.kyschools.us 859.815.2613  
K12 Kim Hardin kim.hardin@marion.kyschools.us 270.692.6066 tbd
K12 Holly Hart hollis.hart@newport.kyschools.us 859.292.3023  
K12 Letitia Rudie Letitia.rudie@boyd.kyschools.us    
K12 Heidi Neltner heidi.neltner@fortthomas.kyschools.us o: 859.781.3333 tbd
K12 Sydney Travis sydney.travis@jefferson.kyschools.us 502.485.8233  
KCTCS Esther French esther.french@kctcs.edu 270.901.1171 Co-chair
KCTCS Elizabeth Hartlaub elizabeth.hartlaub@kctcs.edu 859.442.4162  
KCTCS Evelyn Hudson ehudson0018@kctcs.edu 606.487.3147  
KCTCS Carla Redden carla.redden@kctcs.edu 606.759.7141  
KYVL Ilona Burdette ilona.burdette@ky.gov 502.892.3073  
KYVL Enid Wohlstein enid.wohlstein@ky.gov 502.892.3068  
SAALCK Andrea Brooks brooksa2@nku.edu 859.572.1357  
SAALCK Cindy Judd cindy.judd@eku.edu 859.622.2289  
SAALCK Brad Marcum brad.marcum@eku.edu 859.622.1801  
SAALCK Sarah Richardson sarah.richardson@eku.edu 859.622.2014  

Updated 2.26.2021

Current roster

Andrew Adler, AIKCU
andrew_adler@georgetowncollege.edu
502.863.8000

James Allen, K12, KYVL Leadership Team Liaison
james.allen@education.ky.gov
502.564.3141

Andrea Brooks, SAALCK
brooksa2@nku.edu
859.572.1357

LaKeitha Brooks, K12
lakeitha.brooks@eku.edu
859.622.3726

Ilona Burdette, KYVL
ilona.burdette@ky.gov
502.892.3073

Karrie Chajkowski, K12
karrie.chajkowski@fortthomas.kyschools.us
 

Naulayne Enders
nenders@kcu.edu
606.474.3276

Esther French, Co-chair, KCTCS
esther.french@kctcs.edu
270.901.1171

Melissa Gardner, Co-chair, K12
melissa.gardner@campbell.kyschools.us
859.635.2173

Jason Gay, K12
jason.gay@fortthomas.kyschools.us
859.815.2613

Holly Hart, K12
hollis.hart@newport.kyschools.us
859.292.3023

Elizabeth Hartlaub, KCTCS
elizabeth.hartlaub@kctcs.edu
859.442.4162

Evelyn Hudson, KCTCS
ehudson0018@kctcs.edu
606.487.3147

Cindy Judd, SAALCK
cindy.judd@eku.edu
859.622.2289

Karoline Manny, AIKCU
karoline.manny@centre.edu
859.238.5299

Brad Marcum, SAALCK
brad.marcum@eku.edu
859.622.1801

Carla Redden, KCTCS
carla.redden@kctcs.edu
606.759.7141

Sarah Richardson, SAALCK
sarah.richardson@eku.edu
859.622.2014

Letitia Rudie, K12
Letitia.rudie@boyd.kyschools.us
 

Sydney Travis, K12
sydney.travis@jefferson.kyschools.us
502.485.8233

Enid Wohlstein, KYVL
enid.wohlstein@ky.gov
502.892.3057

Updated 2.26.2021