Skip to main content

KYVL QuickSearch



About KYVL

About KYVL

The Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL) is a consortium of nearly 300 Kentucky libraries and institutions, including colleges and universities, public libraries, K12 schools, hospitals, Department of Defense libraries, the Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives (KDLA), and more.

The three primary services of KYVL include:

  • Databases - core resources accessible to the users of KYVL member libraries.
  • Courier service - facilitating resource sharing among Kentucky's public and academic libraries and KDLA through interlibrary loan.
  • Kentucky Digital Library - a platform for Kentucky libraries and institutions share their digital archives with Kentucky and the world.

KYVL went live in November 1999, and is a program of CPE, the Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education.

KYVL members

The information below is current as of July 1, 2018. Updates for F18-19 will be posted soon.

If you spot errors, please let us know! Email kyvl@ky.gov or call 844.400.KYVL.

Hours and holiday closings

KYVL hours are Monday through Friday, 8 am to 4:30 pm, except during the following Kentucky state holidays:

  • Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday (Monday, January 16, 2017)
  • Good Friday (April 14, 2017, one-half day)
  • Memorial Day (Monday, May 29, 2017)
  • Independence Day (Tuesday, July 4, 2017)
  • Labor Day (Monday, September 4, 2017)
  • Veterans Day (Friday, November 10, 2017)
  • Thanksgiving (Thursday & Friday, November 23-24, 2017)
  •  Christmas (Monday & Tuesday, December 25-26, 2017)
  •  New Year's (Friday, December 29, 2017 & Monday, January 1, 2018)

Upcoming closings appear in the calendar below.

Kentucky Virtual Library • 1024 Capital Center Drive, Suite 320 • Frankfort, KY 40601 • 844.400.KYVL toll free • kyvl@ky.gov
A program of the Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education logo