Skip to main content

KYVL QuickSearch



Committees and Work Groups

About the Authentication Work Group

In May 2018, the KYVL Leadership Team (LT) approved creation of an ad hoc authentication work group. The group is currently being convened and will begin meeting in Fall 2018.

Charge / tasking

To present recommendations no later than May 2019 on the future of KYVL authentication based on the following tasking:

  • To conduct an environmental scan of authentication options and trends:
    • Across the profession
    • Throughout the state and region
  • To evaluate anticipated life expectancy of current and alternate authentication methods
  • To evaluate pros and cons of likely options for KYVL and its members, to include:
    • Privacy
    • Reporting
    • Ability to demonstrate outcomes
    • Consortial use
  • To explore and summarize evaluation by librarians who have already adopted these methods

Approved 8.10.18

To present recommendations no later than May 2019 on the future of KYVL authentication based on the following tasking:

  • To conduct an environmental scan of authentication options and trends:
    • Across the profession
    • Throughout the state and region
  • To evaluate anticipated life expectancy of current and alternate authentication methods
  • To evaluate pros and cons of likely options for KYVL and its members, to include:
    • Privacy
    • Reporting
    • Ability to demonstrate outcomes
    • Consortial use
  • To explore and summarize evaluation by librarians who have already adopted these methods

DRAFT 5.1.19

Roster of current members

Group First Last Email Phone Office
AIKCU Mike Wells wellsm@thomasmore.edu o: 859.344.3524 Chair
K12
Leadership Team Liaison
Marty Park marty.park@education.ky.gov o: 502.564.2020  
KCTCS Maureen Cropper maureen.cropper@kctcs.edu o: 859.246.6394  
KCTCS Michael Stapleton michael.stapleton@kctcs.edu o: 859.256.3361  
KDLA John Detwiler john.detwiler@ky.gov o: 502.564.8374  
KYVL Ilona Burdette ilona.burdette@ky.gov o: 502.892.3073  
KYVL Enid Wohlstein enid.wohlstein@ky.gov o: 502.892.3068  
SAALCK Ashley Ireland aireland@murraystate.edu o: 270.809.2291  
SAALCK Todd King todd.king@eku.edu o: 859.622.3448  
COT Rob Guckenberger rob.guckenberger@ky.gov o: 502.782.5369  

Updated  3.13.2019

Ilona Burdette, KYVL (ex officio)
ilona.burdette@ky.gov
o: 502.892.3073

Maureen Cropper, KCTCS (2020)
maureen.cropper@kctcs.edu
o: 859.246.6394

John Detwiler, KDLA
john.detwiler@ky.gov
o: 502.564.8374

Rob Guckenberger, COT
rob.guckenberger@ky.gov
o: 502.782.5369

Todd King, SAALCK
todd.king@eku.edu
o: 859.622.3448

Ashley Ireland, SAALCK
aireland@murraystate.edu
o: 270.809.2291

Marty Park, K12 / KDE, Leadership Team Liaison
marty.park@education.ky.gov
o: 502.564.2020

Michael Stapleton, KCTCS
michael.stapleton@kctcs.edu
o: 859.256.3361

Mike Wells, AIKCU, Chair
wellsm@thomasmore.edu
o: 859.344.3524

Enid Wohlstein, KYVL
enid.wohlstein@ky.gov
o: 502.892.3068

Updated 03.13.2019

Kentucky Virtual Library • 1024 Capital Center Drive, Suite 320 • Frankfort, KY 40601 • 844.400.KYVL toll free • kyvl@ky.gov
A program of the Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education logo