Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

KYVL QuickSearch



Committees and Work Groups

Charge and tasking

Collections Work Group Charge

To advise KYVL in evaluating and selecting for consortial purchase core databases that balance the needs of membership within the parameters of sustainable funding and enhanced offerings that add value for specific member constituencies; and

To advise KYVL regarding the reporting of usage statistics to:

  • Demonstrate the value of KYVL to stakeholders and the public
  • Provide members a snapshot of usage
  • Facilitate evaluation of KYVL resources

Revised 1.18.2019

Collections Work Group Tasking, F20-21
  • To explore, within sustainable funding models, Tier I priorities identified from responses to the 2020 Collections Survey, including:
    • Newspaper coverage
    • Ebooks
    • Streaming Video
    • TumbleBookLibrary
    • CINAHL upgrade or journal package
  • To review and make recommendations concerning selection and presentation of usage statistics based on available vendor data.
Collections Work Group Tasking, F19-20
  • To evaluate and make recommendations concerning recent KYVL trials
  • To develop a timeline and strategy for a comprehensive evaluation of KYVL core databases and begin the evaluation process once tasks are identified
  • To work with KYVL to explore potential enhanced offerings
  • To review and make recommendations concerning selection and presentation of usage statistics based on available vendor data

Revised 1.18.2019

Roster and composition

Makeup of Collections Work Group

The KYVL Collections work group is a large committee with three representatives from each of several constituency groups. The KYVL executive director serves ex officio. Other members are selected by the organizations they represent and serve staggered three-year terms that begin July 1.

Collections has two officers - a chair and a recorder. The chair is named by Leadership Team to a term beginning July 1. A multi-year commitment may be requested. The recorder is named by the chair.

Group No. of reps Selecting body Membership requirements
AIKCU 3 AIKCU Library Directors  
K12 4 KASL Executive Board (3)
District appointment (1)
District position alternates between JCPS and Fayette County Schools
KCTCS 3 KCTCS Library Directors  
KDLA 1 State librarian & commissioner  
KYVL 1 ex officio Executive director, non-voting
KYVL Leadership Team 1 KYVL Leadership Team LT liaison is non-voting;
May be a voting member in another role
Public libraries 3 KPLA Executive Board  
SAALCK 3 SAALCK Library Directors One rep position alternates between UK and U of L
2 reps represent the 6 regionals
Other - nonaffiliated academic & special libraries 3 Respective deans and directors Nonaffiliated academics - 1 rep
Special libraries - 1 rep
At-large (from either group) - 1 rep

Affirmed by LT 12.16.2016

Current roster
Group First Last Email Phone Office Term exp.
AIKCU Carrie Frey carrie.frey@centre.edu 859.238.5275 Chair 2021
AIKCU Crystal Ellis crystal.ellis@centre.edu 859.238.5277   2022
AIKCU Kay Alston klalston@campbellsville.edu 270.789.5360   2023
K12 Betsy deGolian degolian@trinityrocks.com 502.893.7625   2021
K12 Sijean Hill sijean.hill@oldham.kyschools.us 502.241.3500   2022
K12 Emily Northcutt emily.northcutt@shelby.kyschools.us 502.695.6700   2023
K12 designated Karen Pruitt karen.pruitt@jefferson.kyschools.us 502.485.3011   2021
KCTCS Carla Redden carla.redden@kctcs.edu 606.759.7141 x66190   2021
KCTCS Katie Meyer cmeyer0015@kctcs.edu 270.706.8443   2022
KCTCS Maureen Cropper maureen.cropper@kctcs.edu 859.246.6394   2023
KDLA Beth Milburn beth.milburn@ky.gov 502.564.8325   per appointment
KYVL Ilona Burdette ilona.burdette@ky.gov 502.892.3073   ex officio
KYVL Leadership Team Laura McWilliams director@garrardlibrary.org 270.792.3424 Liaison ex officio
Publics Nicole Frilling nicole.frilling@kentonlibrary.org 859.578.7946   2021
Publics Katie Justice kjustice@bcpl.org 859.292.3391   2022
Publics   Vacant       2023
SAALCK Claudene Sproles caspro01@louisville.edu 502.852.6076   2021
SAALCK Jason Griffith j.griffith@moreheadstate.edu 606.783.5119   2022
SAALCK Laura DeLancy laura.delancey@wku.edu 270.745.3979   2023
Other - nonaffiliated academic Jill Sherman jsherman@lpts.edu 502.992.9397   2023
Other - at large Tony Hopkins tony.hopkins@va.gov 502.287.6240   2021
Other - special libraries Tiffney Gipson tiffney.gipson@louisville.edu 502.852.8530   2022

Updated 10.23.2020

Current roster

Kay Alston, AIKCU (2023)
klalston@campbellsville.edu
270.789.5360

Ilona Burdette, KYVL (ex officio)
ilona.burdette@ky.gov
502.892.3073

Maureen Cropper, KCTCS (2023)
maureen.cropper@kctcs.edu
859.246.6394

Laura DeLancey, SAALCK (2023)
laura.delancey@wku.edu
270.745.3979

Betsy deGolian, K12 (2021)
degolian@trinityrocks.com
502.893.7625

Crystal Ellis, AIKCU (2022)
crystal.ellis@centre.edu
859.238.5277

Carrie Frey, chair, AIKCU (2021)
carrie.frey@centre.edu
859.238.5275

Nicole Frilling, Publics (2021)
nicole.frilling@kentonlibrary.org
859.578.7946

Tiffney Gipson, Special libraries (2022)
tiffney.gipson@louisville.edu
502.852.8530

Jason Griffith, SAALCK (2022)
j.griffith@moreheadstate.edu
606.783.5119

Tony Hopkins, At Large (2021)
tony.hopkins@va.gov
502.287.6240

Katie Justice, Publics (2022)
kjustice@bcpl.org
859.292.3391

Sijean Hill, K12 (2022)
sijean.hill@oldham.kyschools.us
502.241.3500

Laura McWilliams, LT Liaison (ex officio)
director@garrardlibrary.org
859.792.3424

Katie Meyer, KCTCS (2022)
cmeyer0015@kctcs.edu
270.706.8443

Beth Milburn, KDLA (ex officio)
beth.milburn@ky.gov
502.564.8325

Emily Northcutt, K12 (2023)
emily.northcutt@shelby.kyschools.us
502.695.6700

Karen Pruitt, K12 designated (2021)
karen.pruitt@jefferson.kyschools.us
502.485.3011

Carla Redden, KCTCS (2021)
carla.redden@kctcs.edu
606.759.7141 x66190

Jill Sherman, Nonaffiliated Academic (2021)
jsherman@lpts.edu
502.992.9397

Claudene Sproles, SAALCK (2021)
caspro01@louisville.edu
502.852.6076

Vacant

  • Public libraries (2023)

Updated 10.23.2020

KYVL acquisition models

Core

KYVL has historically licensed a core set of databases that are available to all members. Members pay for access to these databases according to the KYVL funding formula. Core database costs are subsidized by the Council on Postsecondary Education with support from the Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives.

Two additional acquisitions models are currently being considered. These would augment, not replace, the core model currently in place.

Opt-in

Under the opt-in model, KYVL would work with vendors to coordinate group discounts for KYVL members for databases not available with the core collection. Participation would be optional, and costs would be passed through to participating libraries without KYVL subsidy.

Pledge model

Under the pledge model, libraries are invited to pledge toward shared acquisition of a resource for all KYVL member libraries. Under this model, some contribute and all benefit. KYVL borrows this model from the OhioLINK consortium, where it is known as the NPR model.

To implement the pledge model, KYVL would:

  • Identify a database already licensed by or of interest to a substantial number of KYVL members.
  • Determine the cost for statewide access.
  • Poll members regarding what they would be willing to pay for access for their institution. Such polling might be followed by further negotiation of individual institutional costs.
  • Solicit a firm commitment from pledging institutions for the agreed upon amount.

If the pledged funding were within range of the statewide cost, KYVL would pursue a statewide deal to add the databases to KYVL's resources for the year in question. If pledges were not in range, the database could be considered for acquisition under the opt-in model.

Members would have the option to alter their pledges from year to year, and statewide access be available only when pledges are sufficient.

Kentucky Virtual Library
844.400.KYVLkyvl@ky.gov
Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education logo
A program of the Council on Postsecondary Education.
100 Airport Road, 2nd floor • Frankfort, KY 40601