Skip to main content

KYVL QuickSearch



Committees and Work Groups

Collections Work Group charge

To advise KYVL in evaluating and selecting for consortial purchase core databases that balance the needs of membership within the parameters of sustainable funding and enhanced offerings that add value for specific member constituencies; and

To advise KYVL regarding the reporting of usage statistics to:

  • Demonstrate the value of KYVL to stakeholders and the public
  • Provide members a snapshot of usage
  • Facilitate evaluation of KYVL resources

Revised 1.18.2019

Collections Work Group tasking

  • To evaluate and make recommendations concerning recent KYVL trials
  • To develop a timeline and strategy for a comprehensive evaluation of KYVL core databases and begin the evaluation process once tasks are identified
  • To work with KYVL to explore potential enhanced offerings
  • To review and make recommendations concerning selection and presentation of usage statistics based on available vendor data

Revised 1.18.2019

Makeup of Collections Work Group

The KYVL Collections work group is a large committee with three representatives from each of several constituency groups. The KYVL executive director serves ex officio. Other members are selected by the organizations they represent and serve staggered three-year terms that begin July 1.

Affirmed by LT 12.16.2016

Group No. of reps Selecting body Membership requirements
AIKCU 3 AIKCU Library Directors  
K12 4 KASL Executive Board (3)
District appointment (1)
District position alternates between JCPS and Fayette County Schools
KCTCS 3 KCTCS Library Directors  
KDLA 1 State librarian & commissioner  
KYVL 1 ex officio Director, non-voting
KYVL Leadership Team 1 KYVL Leadership Team LT liaison is non-voting;
May be a voting member in another role
Public libraries 3 KPLA Executive Board  
SAALCK 3 SAALCK Library Directors One rep position alternates between UK and U of L
2 reps represent the 6 regionals
Other - nonaffiliated academic & special libraries 3 Respective deans and directors Nonaffiliated academics - 1 rep
Special libraries - 1 rep
At-large (from either group) - 1 rep

Affirmed by LT 12.16.2016

Officers

Collections has two officers - a chair and a recorder. The chair is named by Leadership Team to a term beginning July 1. A multi-year commitment may be requested. The recorder is named by the chair.

Affirmed by LT 12.16.2016

Roster of current members

Group First Last Email Phone Office Term exp.
AIKCU Carrie Frey carrie.frey@centre.edu 859.238.5275 Chair 2021
AIKCU Crystal Ellis crystal.ellis@centre.edu 859.238.5277   2022
AIKCU Jason Cooper jacooper@transy.edu 859.233.8405   2020
K12 Betsy deGolian degolian@trinityrocks.com 502.893.7625   2021
K12 Sijean Hill sijean.hill@oldham.kyschools.us 502.241.3500   2022
K12 Emily Northcutt emily.northcutt@franklin.kyschools.us 502.695.6700   2020
K12 designated Karen Pruitt karen.pruitt@jefferson.kyschools.us 502.485.3011   2021
KCTCS Carla Redden carla.redden@kctcs.edu 606.759.7141 x66190   2021
KCTCS Katie Meyer cmeyer0015@kctcs.edu 270.706.8443   2022
KCTCS Maureen Cropper maureen.cropper@kctcs.edu 859.246.6394   2020
KDLA Beth Milburn beth.milburn@ky.gov 502.564.8325   per appointment
KYVL Ilona Burdette ilona.burdette@ky.gov 502.892.3073   ex officio
KYVL Leadership Team Laura McWilliams garrardlibrary@gmail.com 270.792.3424 Liaison ex officio
Publics Nicole Frilling nicole.frilling@kentonlibrary.org 859.578.7946   2021
Publics   Vacant       2022
Publics Holly Hedden hollyh@warrenpl.org 270.781.4882 x218   2020
SAALCK Claudene Sproles caspro01@louisville.edu 502.852.6076   2021
SAALCK Jason Griffith j.griffith@moreheadstate.edu 606.783.5119   2022
SAALCK Cris Ferguson cferguson13@murraystate.edu 270.809.5607   2020
Other - nonaffiliated academic   Vacant       2021
Other - at large Jill Sherman jsherman@sctd.edu 502.213.8260   2021
Other - special libraries Jessica Petrey jessica.petrey@louisville.edu 502.852.5641   2022

Last updated 10.14.19

Ilona Burdette, KYVL (ex officio)
ilona.burdette@ky.gov
502.892.3073

Jason Cooper, AIKCU (2020)
jacooper@transy.edu
859.233.8405

Maureen Cropper, KCTCS (2020)
maureen.cropper@kctcs.edu
859.246.6394

Betsy deGolian, K12 (2021)
degolian@trinityrocks.com
502.893.7625

Crystal Ellis, AIKCU (2022)
crystal.ellis@centre.edu
859.238.5277

Carrie Frey, chair, AIKCU (2021)
carrie.frey@centre.edu
859.238.5275

Nicole Frilling, Publics (2021)
nicole.frilling@kentonlibrary.org
859.578.7946

Jason Griffith, SAALCK (2022)
j.griffith@moreheadstate.edu
606.783.5119

Holly Hedden, Publics (2020)
hollyh@warrenpl.org
270.781.4882 x218

Sijean Hill, K12 (2022)
sijean.hill@oldham.kyschools.us
502.241.3500

Laura McWilliams, LT Liaison (ex officio)
garrardlibrary@gmail.com
859.792.3424

Katie Meyer, KCTCS (2022)
cmeyer0015@kctcs.edu
270.706.8443

Beth Milburn, KDLA (ex officio)
beth.milburn@ky.gov
502.564.8325

Emily Northcutt, K12 (2020)
emily.northcutt@franklin.kyschools.us
502.695.6700

Jessica Petrey, Special libraries (2022)
jessica.petrey@louisville.edu
502.852.5641

Karen Pruitt, K12 designated (2021)
karen.pruitt@jefferson.kyschools.us
502.485.3011

Carla Redden, KCTCS (2021)
carla.redden@kctcs.edu
606.759.7141 x66190

Jill Sherman, Other (2021)
jsherman@sctd.edu
502.213.8260

Claudene Sproles, SAALCK (2021)
caspro01@louisville.edu
502.852.6076

Vacant, AIKCU (2022)

Vacant, Publics (2022)

Vacant, Nonaffiliated academics (2021)

Updated 10.14.2019

Kentucky Virtual Library • 1024 Capital Center Drive, Suite 320 • Frankfort, KY 40601 • 844.400.KYVL toll free • kyvl@ky.gov
A program of the Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education logo