Skip to main content

KYVL QuickSearch

Committees and Work Groups

Collections Work Group charge

To advise KYVL in evaluating and selecting for consortial purchase core databases that balance the needs of membership within the parameters of sustainable funding and enhanced offerings that add value for specific member constituencies; and

To advise KYVL regarding the reporting of usage statistics to:

  • Demonstrate the value of KYVL to stakeholders and the public
  • Provide members a snapshot of usage
  • Facilitate evaluation of KYVL resources

Revised 1.18.2019

Collections Work Group tasking for F18-19

  • To evaluate and make recommendations concerning recent KYVL trials
  • To develop a timeline and strategy for a comprehensive evaluation of KYVL core databases and begin the evaluation process once tasks are identified
  • To work with KYVL to explore potential enhanced offerings
  • To review and make recommendations concerning selection and presentation of usage statistics based on available vendor data

Revised 1.18.2019

Makeup of Collections Work Group

The KYVL Collections work group is a large committee with three representatives from each of several constituency groups. The KYVL executive director serves ex officio. Other members are selected by the organizations they represent and serve staggered three-year terms that begin July 1.

Affirmed by LT 12.16.2016

Group No. of reps Selecting body Membership requirements
AIKCU 3 AIKCU Library Directors  
K12 4 KASL Executive Board (3)
District appointment (1)
District position alternates between JCPS and Fayette County Schools
KCTCS 3 KCTCS Library Directors  
KDLA 1 State librarian & commissioner  
KYVL 1 ex officio Director, non-voting
KYVL Leadership Team 1 KYVL Leadership Team LT liaison is non-voting;
May be a voting member in another role
Public libraries 3 KPLA Executive Board  
SAALCK 3 SAALCK Library Directors One rep position alternates between UK and U of L
2 reps represent the 6 regionals
Other - nonaffiliated academic & special libraries 3 Respective deans and directors Nonaffiliated academics - 1 rep
Special libraries - 1 rep
At-large (from either group) - 1 rep

Affirmed by LT 12.16.2016


Collections has two officers - a chair and a recorder. The chair is named by Leadership Team to a term beginning July 1. A multi-year commitment may be requested. The recorder is named by the chair.

Affirmed by LT 12.16.2016

Roster of current members

Group First Last Email Phone Office Term exp.
AIKCU Carrie Frey o: 859.238.5275 Chair 2021
AIKCU Mimi O'Malley o: 502.873.4385   2019
AIKCU Jason Cooper o: 859.233.8405   2020
K12 Betsy deGolian o: 502.893.7625   2021
K12 Sijean Hill o: 502.241.3500   2019
K12 Emily Northcutt o: 502.695.6700   2020
K12 designated Karen Pruitt o: 502.485.3011   2021
KCTCS Carla Redden o: 606.759.7141 x66190   2021
KCTCS Katie Meyer o: 270.706.8443   2019
KCTCS Maureen Cropper o: 859.246.6394   2020
KDLA Beth Milburn o: 502.564.8325   per appointment
KYVL Ilona Burdette o: 502.892.3073   ex officio
KYVL Leadership Team Laura McWilliams o: 270.792.3424 Liaison  
Publics Nicole Frilling o: 859.578.7946   2021
Publics Holly Hedden o: 270.781.4882 x218   2020
SAALCK Claudene Sproles o: 502.852.6076   2021
SAALCK Kelly Smith o: 859.662.3062   2019
SAALCK Cris Ferguson o: 270.809.5607   2020
Other - nonaffiliated academic Matthew Collins o: 502.992.9398 x420 Recorder 2021
Other - at large Jill Sherman o: 502.213.8260   2021
Other - special libraries Jessica Petrey o: 502.852.5641   2019

Updated 4.17.2019

Ilona Burdette, KYVL (ex officio)
o: 502.892.3073

Johnathan Coleman, Publics (2019)
o: 606.432.9977

Matthew Collins, recorder, Other (2021)
o: 502.992.9398 x420

Jason Cooper, AIKCU (2020)
o: 859.233.8405

Maureen Cropper, KCTCS (2020)
o: 859.246.6394

Betsy deGolian, K12 (2021)
o: 502.893.7625

Cris Ferguson, SAALCK (2020)
o: 270.809.5607

Carrie Frey, chair, AIKCU (2021)
o: 859.238.5275

Nicole Frilling, Publics (2021)
o: 859.578.7946

Holly Hedden, Publics (2020)
o: 270.781.4882 x218

Sijean Hill, K12 (2019)
o: 502.241.3500

Mimi O'MalleyAIKCU (2019)

Katie Meyer, KCTCS (2019)
o: 270.706.8443

Laura McWilliams, LT Liaison
o: 859.792.3424

Beth Milburn, KDLA (ex officio)
o: 502.564.8325

Emily Northcutt, K12 (2020)
o: 502.695.6700

Jessica Petrey, Special libraries (2019)
o: 502.852.5641

Karen Pruitt, K12 designated (2021)
o: 502.485.3011

Carla Redden, KCTCS (2021)
o: 606.759.7141 x66190

Jill Sherman, Other (2021)
o: 502.213.8260

Kelly Smith, SAALCK (2019)
o: 859.622.3062

Claudene Sproles, SAALCK (2021)
o: 502.852.6076

Updated 4.17.2019

Kentucky Virtual Library • 1024 Capital Center Drive, Suite 320 • Frankfort, KY 40601 • 844.400.KYVL toll free •
A program of the Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education logo